What's new

Is there any disadvantages from vaping at high voltage?

Mixsforplan

Initiate
I have been vaping for 6 months, (3 months for pod and then switched to coil building for 3 months)
At first as a vaper who started to vaping with the pod system, I'm familiar with the idea to set the amount of watts depending on the resistances. For example, let's say like 40 watts for 0.16 ohm factory coil or 15 watts for 0.6 ohm coil. After that, I switched to used the RDA with the regulated mod, and I sticked with that idea about Watts and Ohm for a while which usually gave me a really bad flavour from vaping. Moreover, many people in my country still stick with the idea that we should only vape at 3.7-4.2 volts only, so the build must be 0.25-0.4 for DL SINGLE RDA only which mean we have to wrap the coil just 4-5 times only and if we use the 30 ga fused clapton or something we should only vape around 20 watts.

However, one day I have dig into the Jai Haze video, he said that he vaped at 8 volts with 1.14 ohm coil in RDA with no problem which totally changed my misunderstanding about Watts and Ohm, so I dig more about the Ohm's Law, coil mass, surface area, and heat flux in many forums. As I have learnt about that I try to build the coil with many wraps instead. Boom!, now I found my RDA being more flavourful than ever.

Sorry for the long story, but it's just for to be clear on what I have known.

If I used this coil
-38*2 + 38 clapton ni80
-3mm inner diameter
-6.5-7 wrapped
which is around 0.9-1.0 ohm which need about 6.5 Volt to fire at 45 Watts, used with dual series battery 18650 box mod.
the questions are:
is there any disadvantages to vape at very high voltage like this in regulated mod as long as it doesn't exceed the volt limit of the mod?
Will it effects a battery? because I know that the only thing that draining the battery is the current (A).

PS. sorry for bad English, if you found any grammatical errors.

Last edited: