What's new

Pulse 80 SS Mode sub menu TCR settings help

I saw a thead about this a while ago but can't find it.

Trying to get to grips with my Pulse 80's TC mode, I made a simple plain wire SS316 24 gauge coil 8 or 9 wraps spaced, tested it out to be 0.41 ohms in my Recurve, whacke it on my Pulse mod and change it to SS temp (Celsius) started low and worked my way up, all seems fine.

The part I am stuck on is I have no idea what to set the TCR setting to, it defaults at SS1000 and it goes up from 800 to 1600.

I've had TC mode on my wraith but never come across this setting before and don't want to dabble until I know what it affects.

Be gentle I'm still new to this TCR malarky

the SS316 setting should be right already .... if you were using a wire that doesn't have a setting already like NiFe60 or whatever you'd need to put the TCR value in manually.

Thanks for that, eased my mind, it's vaping great and no dry hits so far, until I learn more I doubt I will be straying from SS316 wires.

Using my Pulse 80 to train on while I wait for my Therion BF DNA 75c mod.

It's "temperature coefficient of resistance" ... which is simply how much the resistance changes with the temperature of the wire and how temp control works.

you can look them up for each wire, find an accurate one if it seems 'out' on your mod.

SS316L: 0.00092

SS316: 0.000915

SS317L: 0.00088

SS317: 0.000875

SS304: 0.00105

SS430: 0.00138

SS410: 0.00155

these are the SS TCR values, for example.... if your mod just says 'SS' you could adjust it so make it more accurate because as you can see SS316 and SS316L are different.

Nothing bad will happen though, it may just mean you have your mod set at 200 degrees rather the 220 or whatever if the value is a bit out.

Fair play for taking the time to explain that, quite extreme differences.