POTV - Your vaping community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Why not sign up today!

Register

Building question...

Discussion in 'Rebuildable Mods and Devices' started by devilbedamned, Nov 13, 2018.

1. devilbedamned

devilbedamned Postman

So I am fairly new to this and have been using about 3 different tanks so far.

But for this question, I will just go with my first, the Augvape Merlin Mini.

I have built it about 3 times now (the coil) and wicked it many more times, but no matter how I tweak the process, I see that I cannot take the voltage over about 30-35 watts. Anything above and I get cotton/burnt taste.

Considering, some of the reviewers have tried it at much higher wattages, how are they managing to do this?

I don't mind vaping it at low wattage (currently vaping at 22-25), but I don't understand what I am doing wrong for it not to be able to wick enough at higher wattages. The airflow is wide open and I have tried increasing/decreasing the amount of cotton I am using, and have used different kinds of juices in the tank.

Any advice, or is 33-35 watts the highest setting this particular tank will support?

2. Ment

Ment Legend

There are many factors involved you haven't told us - the material and the style of the coil, the cotton, the juice - all these affect how much power it can handle.

• Like Like x 1
  3. devilbedamned

devilbedamned Postman

Oh, maybe that is the reason. Using simple prebuilt coils and cotton I found online. So switching from plain coil to other types will change how much it can handle.

I guess resistance would also matter then. My current set of coils are around 0.5-0.6 ohms. Going lower then should increase max possible wattage as well, yeah?

4. pdg

pdg Postman

Yes.

Or no.

I have to ask - what is your reason for wanting "higher wattage"?

• Like Like x 1
  5. devilbedamned

devilbedamned Postman