What's new

Harsh throat hit

MJRoberts

Hi im new to vaping, only been vaping for 2 months and decided to start making my own juice, I was on a budget so I decided to get a base mix of 70/30 vg/pg, I added 10% flavour then I added 10ml of nic that was 100% vg, this made it 3mg nic that's what I get from the shops, in my mind this make the juice 70/30 but I'm getting harsh throat hits, could anyone tell me if I'm doing anything wrong?
Will leaving it steep longer give it less of a throat hit?
Should I get some vg and add a little bit?

Thank you in advance.

People will be able to help better with more info. Where is the nic from? What flavour concentrate are you using? some concentrates are more harsh than others and there is wild variance in the amounts you need to use.

As I’m very new to mixing myself in fact I have not started yet but I have done a lot of research and asked on here many questions..

Have you allowed your mix to steep.? Most recommend 1-2 weeks..

If you keep adding stuff you will never get it right..
using a Eliquid calculator the potv one is the best I have seen and stick to that recipe but adjust if needed using the calculator calculation ie more flavour concentrate or more nic etc....

There are mixing experts here who will answer you with more expert advice..

It's more likely to be the combination of flavourings that are making the throat hit harsh than nicotine TBH. Even though nic can be peppery it doesn't usually vary that much to make huge differences. What flavours specifically did you mix up and at what percentages? I go through quite a lot of different flavours and brands to find which are the lowest on the throat hit scales and find some just don't mix well with others.