What's new

Recipe advice please

Sirspidey

Postman
hi all
I’ve just started to mix my own juice and I’ve just started doing simple one , strawberry, raspberry etc, but wanted to do some nicer ones, custard etc. Now is there a hard and fast rule of the ratios of flavours to put together? I guess taste wise it’s more experimental, but any guidelines?
Also I haven’t got many flavour and wondered if there are any ‘stock’ ones I should be getting to achieve some nice custard/creamy mixes?

Many thanks

You should get some fa vanilla custard, mix it at 5% and let it sit for 2 weeks at least.

You should get some fa vanilla custard, mix it at 5% and let it sit for 2 weeks at least.

That’s great, but excuse me for being a complete noob, but mix just the one flavour (custard) at 5% or add other flavours and what % should they be?
Thanks

Hi,

Its always hard to suggest flavours because as has been said many times ' everybody's different '.

If possible I would start at 5% for Inawera or FlavourArt concentrates and 10% for all others. Often on the website you get them from it will suggest a starting point.
Menthol based juices - start low with the menthol - I start at 2% you can easily overpower other flavours.
You never really know till you try, I have a Honeydew melon which is very strong and needs only 2% and blackcurrant concentrates I cant taste at 15%.

Its all about whats right for you. Mixing small amounts means you can adjust mixes without wasting too much if it all goes wrong.

If you like Heisenberg or Red Astaire both can be bought in concentrate form and I have had no complaints at 15% for either.

I generally try to stay under 20% of total concentrate in any one mix. There is no reason for this that I am aware of but I was told to do it when I started out and so always have.

Steeping is important. If you try a juice that you have made and it is rank, leave it in a draw for a month and then try it again.