POTV - Your vaping community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Why not sign up today!

Register

iJoy Avenger, can't update firmware....

Discussion in 'Everything ECigs' started by slowbo, Apr 18, 2019.

  1. slowbo

    slowbo Postman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    28
    Good afternoon Apes...

    I have an issue with a brand new Avenger 270 Mod.

    I've gone to update the firmware and keep getting an error message....

    I've downloaded the Zip file, extracted the update EXE and the Bin file.

    I've then opened the updater and connected the Mod, connection status is:- IJOY devices connected.
    I then choose the Bin file for the avenger and click update and I get another box pop up with this in it:-

    IJOY Update V2.0

    File size > Flash size

    I click OK and it takes me back out..... Won't actually start the update...

    Anyone have any ideas as to why?

    Maybe it already has the correct firmware, how would I check?

    All help appreciated!!

    Regards.
     
  2. Smoorecig
  3. MrDJ

    MrDJ Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    20,155
    Likes Received:
    12,913
    my moto is if it works then dont bother trying to fix it (especially smok) as updates can sometimes brick a mod.

    top of my head i think i read you need to remove batteries and hold fire button in.
    26 mods and ive never updated one and they are all working perfectly.
     
  4. papaeff786

    papaeff786 Postman

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    86
    I agree if it ain’t broke don’t try to fix it... unless of course u need an updated function
     
  5. Vapable
  6. Mordacai

    Mordacai Postman

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2019
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    85
    Hello slowbo, what operating system are you using?
     
  7. Gitchy

    Gitchy Achiever

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    2,297
    Likes Received:
    2,380
    Do you have a firewall on your PC? If so turn it off.

    I had the exact same issue and turning off the firewall sorted it first time.
     
  8. slowbo

    slowbo Postman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    28
    Hey all... Thanks for all comments.... I noticed that it's currently running 1.7, not 1.72... but as stated above I can't be bothered to update.. .It all works fine at the moment... Why mess with that eh?!
     
  9. Summer_Sonne

    Summer_Sonne New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Andillian

    Andillian New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I realize this post is nearly a year old but I had the same issue and realized that it said on the IJoy page that all updates were intended for windows 7, why? *shrug*
    However using the compatibility trouble shooter and telling it to run the program in a windows 7 format worked like a charm. I just made an account to say thank you to Summer_Sonne
    for helping confirm my suspicions.
     
  11. amanda79

    amanda79 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I know this is an old thread, but you don't happen to still have the firmware do you? I tried to find it on the ijoy website but cant find it. I need to update mine because it switches on when I put the batteries in but I cant use it or get into the settings or turn it back off again, Thanks in advance.
     
  12. Mitz

    Mitz Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    10,484
    Likes Received:
    14,171
    Hopefully someone here will still have it but if not then shoot ijoy an email and ask them for it. [email protected]


    Welcome to the forum @amanda79
     

Share This Page