What's new

Struggling to get a good tc vape from topside carbon

KoKane

Postman
I'm using an rda with dual SS316L aliens, ohming out at 0.1

I've tried adjusting the tcr from 0.00088 - 0.00092, the joules between 75 - to the max 120, and temp between 420f - 460f.

I can't get a warm vape or decent amount of vapour from it to save my life. I'm a complete noob to tc, so any tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Are you getting a reasonable vape from it in VW mode? If you are make a note of the wattage they run best at. Let your setup cool down for 5-10 mins. Check your resistance when cold. If possible lock the "cold" resistance into you mode, in TC mode set your wattage around 10-20 watts higher than your VW setting. Your TC settings of anywhere between 0.00088 & 92 is fine. Now starting low, slowly increase your temp until your getting a good hit, keeping everything nice and moist of coarse. You should be good to go.

As squidgy says.. :thumbup:

Getting accurate and consistent TC with a pair of SS claptons at 0.1ohms isn't going to be easy though. It's difficult enough just with a single round wire coil. :D .... . It's depends what you are trying to do though, if you just want dry hit prevention you should be able to dial that in fine.

I did lock the resistance in when the coils were cold, and I also made sure they were spaced. You can't set wattage for tc with the topside carbon, it's joules mode, but I've read that 1 joule is pretty much the equivalent of 1 watt. I'm getting a nice full warm vape at 105w with this build, but even with the joules at the max 120, I feel like I'm inhaling fresh air.

Edit: it seems to be working well at 445f with 120 Joules now. Strange..

Last edited: