What's new
  • Due to active development, we've had to change the site cookie domain. If you're having any issues logging in, please try clearing your cookies for forum.planetofthevapes.co.uk and try again. Sorry for any inconvenience. The POTV Team

Stainless Steel? OK or not worth it?

cheersm8

Achiever
Hi folks, just a quick question for opinions.
I'm very new to TC vaping and so far it's all good.
Ni200 is the only wire that I've used so far and I'm quite happy with the results, up to a point.
For dual coil tanks, no problem mounting via post holes, but ni200 is a smidgin whispy and fragile and I'm finding it a right royal pain to mount under the screws on single coil tanks.
With that in mind I fancy trying stainless for TC builds on single coil tanks, for no other reason than it's chunkiness and I reckon it will be easier to mount.
I have no idea how it behaves as far as TC vaping goes though, so, what do you folks reckon? is SS worth bothering with?

Good question. SS has poor numbers as they relate to its ability to be temp controlled and shouldn't be considered as a very suitable TC wire. However, it does have its advantages in that it is easy to work with and relatively thick gauges can be used, so it is convenient to work with. I use it quite a bit for those reasons and because you can easily achieve a high enough resistance to improve its stability in TC, especially with single coils. Another advantage is that it offers one of, if not the cleanest flavours in TC vaping.
The main downside I have found is that it is a little erratic in TC. The temp seems to run away a bit on sustained draws. Resistances around the 0.35 ohm mark work pretty well with SS 316L.
If you're looking for a much easier to work with wire for TC, and one which provides hugely more stable TC than nickel, I'd highly recommend Stealthvape NiFe30. 29 gauge for dual coils and 28 for singles works well. It makes for very stable TC and nice clean taste.