What's new

Coil builds for regulated dual 1850 squonk (single coil & dual coil setups)

ohmy

Hey gang, what do you use and/or recommend for building on a dual 18350 squonk mod such as the topside dual?

I've been using my standard fused staggered claptons (2 x 28 AWG ni80 w/ 36 AWG wrap core, fused with 36 AWG ni80... 7 wraps, 3 inner)

the taste is okay, but not as good as I feel should be expected. have tried those in dual coil setup and single coil (using the pulse v2 for single, drop & dead rabbit for dual coils)

I've tried 2x26awg SS316L core w/ 40 AWG SS316L claptons too and they tasted the same to me

DGAF about clouds, just flavour. I DIY juice, so it's less sweet and since I'm new to all this it tastes meh anyway compared to commercial

I've googled around, but the info seems outdated for modern squonking (a lot of recommendations for 6 wrap plain ole kanthal wire... unless there's a reason to use kanthal for squonking that I'm missing? lol)

do "exotic" coils really matter for squonking anyway? unless you drip a couple drops on your coils, it's only the cotton gettign wet, right?

edit:
I forgot to ask, I have a therion bf 75c too, what sort of single coil build is optimal for a single battery 18350?

Flat Ni80 (Brochrome) is a good wire. Surface area of 2 core claptons & quicker ramp up & great for flavour. By the way, sure your batteries are 18650 not 18350 ;).

After trying many RDA's on my Topside Dual the winner is the Ijoy Squonk RDTA for flavour (not to be confused with the SRDA), but a close 2nd is the Drop Solo single coil.

Simple Ni80 fused claptons work nicely, I am still using the included coils which have lasted a ridiculously long time :)

That said I have 2 Topsides, the other I use in Temp control with the Geek Vape Athena RDA and SS316L plain wire and is my preferred setup.