What's new

Insane Coil Gunk

Toastie

Achiever
Looking for some assistance as I'm pulling my hair out. I'm an experienced builder, but wicking has always been my weak point, even after many years. I'm posting here because I hope to hell it is down to me making a wicking mistake or something.

Bought a new juice yesterday from a local vape shop, Zonk Mixed Berry.

_20190927_084227.JPG

After literally an hour I start getting flavourful but burnt hits on the back end. This is a picture of the coil, spaced 26g ni80, centre wrap is starting to go black, looks worse in the picture. Am I just extremely sensitive to coils with a little gunk in them, or am I missing something entirely? I hadn't even put 2ml of juice through the coil.

_20190927_083811.JPG

This happens with most juices I use, even the ruthless ez duz it you see in the photo, just to a lesser extent. I know Zonk is a US company so likely packed with sweetener, but from what I've read these are pretty light if any.

I've seen people vaping on coils in a much worse state than that, could I really just be extremely sensitive to burning coil gunk? I'd rather not waste yet another bottle of juice.

That is a Kanger RBA used inside a billet box, 0.6ohm, 20-25w.

Have you got a hot spot. To me, if only the centre wrap is going like that so quickly, it's a possibility.
I assume you are fluffing the ends of the cotton before tucking them in.

I can get a week on the same cotton all be it an rda.

Have you got a hot spot. To me, if only the centre wrap is going like that so quickly, it's a possibility.
I assume you are fluffing the ends of the cotton before tucking them in.

I can get a week on the same cotton all be it an rda.

I am yes and with it being a spaced coil, unlikely to be a hot spot. The cotton was fine when I pulled it out. Best I've had from a dripper was maybe a day on the same cotton, cotton was fine but coil needed a dry burn.