What's new
  • Due to active development, we've had to change the site cookie domain. If you're having any issues logging in, please try clearing your cookies for forum.planetofthevapes.co.uk and try again. Sorry for any inconvenience. The POTV Team

Help! Making my first coil

Aer

Initiate
I've owned my GV Zeus X (EDIT- Zeus X) and Aegis for quite a while but up until now I've always bought premade coils. I have a coil master v4 and now 100ft of kanthal a1 28g wire. The only way I have to read the resistance of my coil is the Aegis mod itself. I normally use 0.5 or lower sub ohm pre made coils but no idea what resistance is best for me as I havent tried much else. I just want to check with someone that knows more if this sounds reasonable before going ahead.

Main questions I have are:

Is it safe to use my Aegis to check the resistance of homemade coils?

The recommended wattage on the steam-engine calculator seems low, does this sound okay for a first try, AFAIK higher resistance is a bit safer?

kanthal a1
awg 28
single coil
target resistance - 1.00 ohm
inner diameter (not sure what was best here) - 2mm
leg length - 6mm (this is a guess and might change once I open the tank and measure my current coil)
wraps - 6
heat capacity - 14.77 mJ/K
wattage - 11w (seems low)

Thanks in advance for any help

Last edited:
Is it safe to use my Aegis to check the resistance of homemade coils?

Yeah man, it's fine

The recommended wattage on the steam-engine calculator seems low, does this sound okay for a first try, AFAIK higher resistance is a bit safer?

I'm really not sure what you're trying to do. 28g is very thin wire, more suitable for MTL vaping which the Zeus certainly isn't designed for. 1 ohm again, is MTL territory

24g gauge wire would be a better wire to use in the 0.3 to 0.50 ohm range . 5 wraps of 24g around the 3.5mm piece would get you around 0.50 ohm range & be more suitable. The Zeus really wants thicker Ni80 fused claptons to get the best from it