What's new

What makes a good tank?

Flower Power

Postman
Watching youtube reviewers, flavour intensity and flavour profile seem to be their key criteria for what makes a good tank, but maybe this misses something?

I have been enjoying an old Kayfun Five Pawns clone for last 6 months, with almost exclusively Manabush in it (I did try some menthol too which was fine but menthol tastes fine in any old tank). The tank mutes the flavour compared with something like the True tank, it is a pain to refill and you can't do anything with the coil without losing all the juice, but there is a quality to the vape I enjoy.

It is hard for me to put in to words what I like about it, I would say the quality of the vape experience is good, but that doesn't really explain what exactly I mean. I guess I just like the flavour through the tank, it mutes it perhaps, but I still get the juice to taste the way I like it. I can take long relaxed draws and get just the right amount of vapour. This is all very personal, I suppose.

But am I making sense? Is there more to a good tank than just the intensity of flavour and ease of use?

I dont think flavour alone defines a good tank for me. In fact I know it doesn’t.

My favourite tanks/atties/bridges don’t necessarily provide the best flavour but they do provide the best overall experience for me.
Ease of build. Toughness. Useability. Correct airflow and so on.

If something tastes brilliant but I can’t pocket it all day then it’s no use to me. If it tastes great but the draw is off then I will eventually lose interest. If it’s temperamental then again I’ll dump it.

It is all a mixture of factors and personal preferences. I carry only top airflow tanks and i drip while at home. Vaping for quite a while and i have 3 tanks and 3 mods. I kept trying new stuff and reverted back to my kit. I am chasing flavour, so for me is a biggie but i am also a single coil runner, tried dual coil setups in many forms and can't see the usefulness.