What's new

Weird batch of flavour concentrates? Advice needed!

Pnos

Hi guys,

New to vaping and my first post here.

Just wanted to sound off my concern on more experienced members here - I've decided to go into diy mixing so trawled the forum for good nicotine etc and was led to darkstar. They do concentrates too so I got 6 to sample:

FA Pistachio
FA Graham Cracker Clear
FA Hazelnut
FA Espresso
CA Vanilla Custard V2
CA Golden Butter

Now, I'm completely new to this game, so got no experience to rely on, but I heeded the advice online and got my scale, PG/VG, nicotine, flavour concentrates and a recipe calculator to make a first batch.

I tried several percentages (ranged from 7% to 25%), steeped them , warm bath'ed them, you name it. They still give off an offensive glue-like scent and when I tried to vape the least offensive of the bunch it was pretty darn ugly.

I was almost put-off from doing diy and thought I'm just doing something wrong or possibly ordered the wrong flavours. Then I thought of giving another go and ordered a selection of 16 10ml concentrates from a place called rainbowvapes. Every one of them smells great and reminiscent of what's on the label - though I haven't tried to make any recipes yet.

So what could be the culprit here? Has anyone had experience with "bad" concentrates from Darkstar (or anywhere else)? Is there any way to tell if these are actually bad or diluted with something weird?

Appreciate any advice!

With the FA ones you've probably gone far too high on the percentages. Most Fa are good between 1 and 5% so 7% will be overpowering and chemically.

The CAP ones need a good long steep before they're ready to vape. The custard itself can take up to 6 weeks to be any where near vapable once mixed imo. Usually fruit vapes are good to go once mixed, maybe a day or 2 of steeping till they're ready. Most creams/custards need a few weeks and I'm not sure on the nutty ones.