What's new

VG - to dilute or not dilute?

allen

Postman
HI all

I've been mixing my own liquid for a couple of years. I've always used the same base:
20% PG (inc PG based nic)
80% VG ( actually VG that's been diluted with 15% distilled water)

I've always done it, it works for me and I thought this is how you're supposed to do it as VG is far thicker than PG and needs diluting to the same viscosity as PG.

Yesterday I noticed a major PG VG supplier sells their liquid premixed as VG/PG blends; being a lazy git by nature, I thought I'd check..... is it only VG/PG or has it been diluted with water too.
the answer I got is
"None of our Base Mix products are ever diluted down with distilled water. You can buy Distilled water separately from our website if you wish. We will in the next 2 weeks be releasing Aqueous Glycerine which is special blend of 80% VG and 20% Distilled water. "

So, I want to check - am I alone in diluting my VG or do other people still do it as well?

would you buy a mix that is 20% PG and 80% VG in it's thicker, undiluted form)?

Thanks

No, I never dilute my VG ... other than adding PG based nic and flavourings.
If you have a problem mixing because the VG is too viscous try warming up the VG first. I often weigh out the VG into a jug first and give it 10-20 seconds in the microwave. Don't cook it, just warm it through. That makes it just as runny as PG and I'm then able to use a milk frother to mix everything thoroughly.

Personally, I wouldn't bother buying VG and PG as a premix as I never add PG to my mixes, just the nic and flavouring.

Last edited:
No, I never dilute my VG ... other than adding PG based nic and flavourings.
If you have a problem mixing because the VG is too viscous try warming up the VG first. I often weigh out the VG into a jug first and give it 10-20 seconds in the microwave. Don't cook it, just warm it through. That makes it just as runny as PG and I'm then able to use a milk frother to mix everything thoroughly.