What's new

Mixing by weight?

Freeflyer

Postman
Hi folks,

I noticed in quite a few threads that some folks prefer mixing by weight, rather than by volume. I am fairly new to the mix and so far have created a few good juices but use syringes to measure.

If you get some digital lab scales for example, to mix by weight, how do you know the SG of the liquids you are mixing?
Clearly water is 1, so 1mg=1ml, but what about other fluids, such as the VG, PG and flavours? I am guessing you simply mix by ratio, or percentages, is this right?

Cheers!

I use Juice Calculator by Hotrod http://diyjuicecalculator.com/ once you've got it set up it will give you the weight for the components of your recipe. As for the weights they are PG 1.038g per ml, VG 1.26g per ml, 7.2% PG nic 1.035g per ml, 7.2% VG nic 1.242g per ml. Concentrates just assume 1ml=1g or you can get the specific weights from ELR. Just make sure that your scales measure in 0.01g increments.

I use Juice Calculator by Hotrod http://diyjuicecalculator.com/ once you've got it set up it will give you the weight for the components of your recipe. As for the weights they are PG 1.038g per ml, VG 1.26g per ml, 7.2% PG nic 1.035g per ml, 7.2% VG nic 1.242g per ml. Concentrates just assume 1ml=1g or you can get the specific weights from ELR. Just make sure that your scales measure in 0.01g increments.
I have been using these measurements since you posted them in a previous thread, thanks very much! I input flavourings as 1.038g/ml though, due to assuming they are mostly PG. What do you think, better to use 1mg/ml?

People I know use 1mg = 1ml but they are not advanced mixers so it will be interesting to see what advice you get here.

I have been using these measurements since you posted them in a previous thread, thanks very much! I input flavourings as 1.038g/ml though, due to assuming they are mostly PG. What do you think, better to use 1mg/ml?